Don’t Be a Jack Of All Trades Developer!

How To Deal With The Ever-Changing Web Technologies as Developer

Don’t Be a Jack Of All Trades Developer!

As developers, we are all aware that web technologies are changing so fast that no human is ever in the power of learning everything. But how should we deal with it?

I think this is one of those topics developers are not talking about a lot. So I thought, let’s open up the conversation and be open about it.


You don’t have to be a master of everything

After more than ten years in this industry, I’ve seen people who know a lot, and I mean a lot! And when you are standing at the start of your career as a developer, this can feel overwhelmed.

Most of the time, people who know a lot have tried a lot of different things. They made a lot of mistakes in their experimentation. But they aren’t a master of everything.

A master of everything isn’t possible for us humans. Our brains have their limits.

I’m a frontend developer for the length of my career; I focus on HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. So I have basic knowledge of topics around my work. But I’m not an expert in everything.

Even though I do a lot with JavaScript, I haven’t built things with WebGL, for example. So I think that it is not a bad thing that there are gaps in your knowledge.


Give yourself focus

To prevent yourself from feeling the pressure of knowing everything, it’s a good idea to focus on a few topics in your work.

As a frontend developer, it’s essential to have excellent knowledge about HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Likewise, as a backend developer, it’s critical to know how to deal with Databases and serverside rendering.

So it’s a wise choice to learn some technologies next to it. For a frontend developer, it’s wise to know a JavaScript framework. Like Angular, React, or Vue. But don’t try to be an expert in all of them!

For a backend developer, it can be wise to focus on the .Net framework or any other backend framework.

This will give you much more focus on your work and a bigger chance to become an expert in that particular piece of work.


You are not alone

If you have any doubts about your expertise, I will tell you “You are not alone”! I guarantee you that 100% of all the developers have periods in their career they doubt a lot about their expertise.

Don’t worry about it! Instead, make sure you have focus. After all, a Jack of all trades is a master of none.

Hopefully, reading this will give you the courage to add some more focus to your work and become an expert.

Remind yourself that becoming an expert in technology takes time. So take that time, and don’t pressure yourself on that!


Thanks!

hashnode-footer.png I hope you learned something new or are inspired to create something new after reading this story! 🤗 If so, consider subscribing via email (scroll to the top of this page) or follow me here on Hashnode.

Did you know that you can create a Developer blog like this one, yourself? It's entirely for free. 👍💰🎉🥳🔥

If I left you with questions or something to say as a response, scroll down and type me a message. Please send me a DM on Twitter @DevByRayRay when you want to keep it private. My DM's are always open 😁

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Dev By RayRay by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!